PDA

View Full Version : Anyone deal with Pre98 on eBay?


Cecil
07-31-2009, 06:43 PM
Anyone ever deal with "Pre98" on eBay? He's selling a Johnson Bayonet as original on eBay.

eBay (http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewI...E:X:AAQ:US:1123)

I talked to Joe Scott and he confirmed the bayonet is either a reproduction or fake. He stated that NO original Johnson bayonets were ever produced with a flat rivet head. Because of the tooling used in production all original Johnson bayonets had a convex rivet head. When I contacted "Pre98" this was the response I received:

"I guess I will have to tell that to the 95 year old retired marine Col that I got it from,who has owned it since the big one. Go figure. Everytime I get a Johnson bayonet some poser always says its fake. Everybody that handled it said it was real. If I wanted your worthless opinion I would have paid for it or I could have taken 5 minutes to look at the same worthless website that you did."

I'm not sure who "Everybody that handled it" is but he needs to find others to ask. I'm also curious what "worthless website" he thinks I went to.

I can tell you he is one individual I will never do business with regardless what he has to sell.

cafdfw
08-01-2009, 11:49 PM
He's notorious for selling an endless supply of 'perfect' stamped holsters and other 'as new' items for high dollars, but I have no personal experience.
"Red flags" but an expert would have to chime in.

Recent feedback not very stellar:
Negative/Neutral Feedback received by pre98 (http://toolhaus.org/cgi-bin/negs?User=pre98&ref=home)

joem
08-03-2009, 02:06 PM
Looks like someone to stay away from!

Bill Hollinger
08-04-2009, 08:02 PM
Holy crap! That guy is something else! Run rabbit run!