PDA

View Full Version : Replies generated by highlighting text and clicking the tiny "quote" pop-up button



jmoore
06-04-2011, 10:22 AM
Lately, the reply box has been appearing to the far right of the screen, usually so far off that it's invisible unless the now enlarged frame is shifted using the bar at the bottom. ( If it's browser specific: AOL for sure, it's not an option on "mobile" setting used w/ IE6. Haven't checked Firefox, yet.)

Inconvient, but not a biggie until today when the reply box kept disappearing whrn the mouse arrow left the text box, making it impossible to hit the "submit reply" button. (Ended up just copying the entire partial quote reply and pasting it in the "post quick reply" box at the bottom of the thread.

(Firefox isn't my favorite as the cookie function is turned off, so gotta log in every time. It's a factor if more than one of us is using the computer. When alone the Browser can be whatever works, but...)

I know it may be browser specific, but this is just a "heads-up", as the function has changed recently. My BAD time sense estimates w/in the past 2-3 months. But the final straw occured as noted above this morning.

Sorry to be the "Bother" again!

:o

Badger
06-04-2011, 12:22 PM
Hi ... :)

Ok, I just tested it under Safari, FireFox, IE7, IE8 and IE9 on both Microsoft Windows based computers, as well as Apple Mac OSX based computers.

I can't duplicate the problem ... :(

Both the "Quick Reply" window and and main "Reply" window (under "Go Advanced") appear in their proper postiions.

Try the "Quote" and reply function again and confirm it's still not working properly for you.

Thanks .. :thup:

Regards,
Doug

jmoore
06-04-2011, 12:52 PM
OK, but it'll be an AOL test.

Note that the box will stay put at first, but will then usually pop off screen at some point during the reply. Let's see if It'll do it now, and what an instigating event causes it.

One moment...

---------- Post added at 11:52 AM ---------- Previous post was at 11:43 AM ----------


Safari, FireFox, IE7, IE8 and IE


this is a test. No problem yet. Oooh, as soon as I moved the cursor out of the text into the macros above (to go "bold" for instance) it flys off to the side. So, yah. It's still does it.

Fixing to move the cursor out of the text box again- nope, didn't disappear like earlier. Still off to the side.

Going full screen now--

Ach, so! it reverts to normal. (I usually keep the window less than maximized in order to run multiple sites (or this site twice) simultaneously.

Eh, it's under control, now. But it didn't do it before.

Sorry for the intrusion w/ non-weapons related gunk.

Back to cluttering up the site!

jmoore
06-06-2011, 09:39 AM
Dadgumit! Now the reply box jumps off to the side even in full screen mode. But only once today. At least it didn't become un-usable like before.

Cranky, today, sorry. Aches and pains...

Emri
06-07-2011, 10:58 AM
I am having the same "problem". I thought I was not being allowed to "reply with quote" for some reason. Reply box is so far out to the right, I didn't know where it was until I finally noticed the horizontal shift bar was way to the left.

I use Internet Explorer.

FWIW,

Emri

Badger
06-07-2011, 11:31 AM
I am having the same "problem". I thought I was not being allowed to "reply with quote" for some reason. Reply box is so far out to the right, I didn't know where it was until I finally noticed the horizontal shift bar was way to the left.

I use Internet Explorer.

FWIW,

Emri

IE6 or IE7 I presume?

Thanks .. :)

Regards,
Doug

Emri
06-08-2011, 01:06 PM
IE6 or IE7 I presume?

Thanks .. :)

Regards,
Doug


Zoooommm!!! You just went over my head. I don't have a clue. I just use what my ISP has available. To make this reply with quote I had to "find" it just as jmoore stated. Not complaining and it is no big deal now that I know how. Just posted FYI in case you really do have a "problem".

Thanks,

Emri

Badger
06-08-2011, 01:26 PM
Zoooommm!!! You just went over my head.

Sorry ... :)

What I meant was which Microsoft Internet Explorer version are you using? Version 6 or Version 7?

You can tell by going to the browser's top bar and usually looking for something that you'd click called "About". It will tell you the version number you are using.

Thanks ... :thup:

Regards,
Doug

jmoore
06-09-2011, 01:40 AM
Just FYI, I'm NOT using the IE"ancient" computers when these dramas occur. On those, I'm using "mobile" mode which has no "quote" function.

Badger
06-09-2011, 07:53 AM
Just FYI, I'm NOT using the IE"ancient" computers when these dramas occur. On those, I'm using "mobile" mode which has no "quote" function.

Ok ... :confused:

You mean you are logged onto the site with a computer of some sort, but to browse the site, you have selected the Mobile "style" from the drop down box in the bottom left corner of the web page?

Regards,
Doug

Emri
06-09-2011, 10:58 AM
The tool bar informed me it is running on " version 6.3.3.3 (IE 6+) " .

Thanks,

Emri

Badger
06-09-2011, 11:20 AM
The tool bar informed me it is running on " version 6.3.3.3 (IE 6+) " .

You're running 10 year old Internet browser software. Update your IE6 Microsoft Browser to IE8 or later and it will solve an enormous amount of problems .... :thup:

IE6 by Microsoft (released August 27, 2001) for Windows operating system machines is not just outdated, but it's obsolete and many web sites no longer support it, with some actually blocking it when their software does a "browser type" check and discover a user is attempting to login with it. :lol:

Anyway, as I've said numerous times before and if it's within the control os the user (not his IT department), I'd recommend people perform a simple upgrade on their Windows based machines as it's going to be absolutely critical as HTML5 and other changes to software technology start coming on-line in the next six to twelve months. It's one of the primary reasons we had to change to vBulletin v4 and move away from v3.6 for running this site, which was almost 3 years old and declared unsupported and obsolete by the authors of vBulletin.

Specifically, we've tested this v4 software running on Apple MacBook Pro with OSX Leopard using FireFox and Safari. We also tested it on an standard PC running Windows XP with IE8 (Microsoft Internet Explorer V8). It's also been tested extensively on Apple iPads, Apple iPods, Apple iPhones, RIM Blackberries and several other graphics PDA's and phones.

Regards,
Doug

jmoore
06-10-2011, 01:49 AM
<p>
Ok ... <img src="images/smilies/confuse.gif" border="0" alt="" title="Confused" smilieid="39" class="inlineimg" /></p>
<p>&nbsp;</p>
<p>You mean you are logged onto the site with a computer of some sort, but to browse the site, you have selected the Mobile &quot;style&quot; from the drop down box in the bottom left corner of the web page?</p>
<p>&nbsp;</p>
<p>Regards,</p>
<p>Doug</p>
<p>&nbsp;</p>

Yup! It's the only way I do it during the week for about a year or so. Otherwise, well, it gets ugly. Thanks why I don't use the "thanks" button and other useful features between 00:30 Monday to 06:00 Friday. (Except for 07:30 -12:00 Monday time slot). Cumbersome but it keeps me on the site.

(Hence the wierd Quote box above.)

Oddly, this is the only site to which such extreme measures are required. I don't know if it affects others as badly.

Badger
06-10-2011, 07:44 AM
<p></p>
<p>&nbsp;</p>

Yup! It's the only way I do it during the week for about a year or so. Otherwise, well, it gets ugly. Thanks why I don't use the "thanks" button and other useful features between 00:30 Monday to 06:00 Friday. (Except for 07:30 -12:00 Monday time slot). Cumbersome but it keeps me on the site.

(Hence the wierd Quote box above.)

Oddly, this is the only site to which such extreme measures are required. I don't know if it affects others as badly, but I reckon they just use CSP. Gunboards, M14forum or "arf.com", etc. No dramas there, but aside from M14forum, I rarely visit any of 'em. (This last may be removed from the post to minimize negative perceptions.)

I think the other sites are running older versions of vBulletin ....

The text you're showing quoted above is actual HTML language code, which would infer the browser is not interpreting it, but just displaying the RAW code ...

Regards,
Doug

jmoore
06-10-2011, 09:34 AM
Well, if you don't mind, I'll continue to make this site home as long as I can access it.

It might mean some extra clutter and odd behaviour which which to deal, however! :madsmile:

Badger
06-10-2011, 09:50 AM
Well, if you don't mind, I'll continue to make this site home as long as I can access it.

It might mean some extra clutter and odd behaviour which which to deal, however! :madsmile:

It is certainly your home and besides us, I know the general membership really enjoys your participation and support. :thup:

I just feel badly that there's nothing we can do to help you with technology issues. :(

If you ever get an iPad, you could access the site without problems from anywhere ... :D

Regards,
Doug

Emri
06-10-2011, 08:39 PM
You're running 10 year old Internet browser software. Update your IE6 Microsoft Browser to IE8 or later and it will solve an enormous amount of problems .... :thup:

IE6 by Microsoft (released August 27, 2001) for Windows operating system machines is not just outdated, but it's obsolete and many web sites no longer support it, with some actually blocking it when their software does a "browser type" check and discover a user is attempting to login with it. :lol:

Anyway, as I've said numerous times before and if it's within the control os the user (not his IT department), I'd recommend people perform a simple upgrade on their Windows based machines as it's going to be absolutely critical as HTML5 and other changes to software technology start coming on-line in the next six to twelve months. It's one of the primary reasons we had to change to vBulletin v4 and move away from v3.6 for running this site, which was almost 3 years old and declared unsupported and obsolete by the authors of vBulletin.

Specifically, we've tested this v4 software running on Apple MacBook Pro with OSX Leopard using FireFox and Safari. We also tested it on an standard PC running Windows XP with IE8 (Microsoft Internet Explorer V8). It's also been tested extensively on Apple iPads, Apple iPods, Apple iPhones, RIM Blackberries and several other graphics PDA's and phones.

Regards,
Doug


Thanks Doug,

I guess I need a computer person to runthrough the computers. I did the Microsoft up-date today and it only gave me the IE7 version. Is there a way to "force" the IE8 version ?? Please don't give a long tutorial, I just don't know that much about how to operate the machinery I have in front of me. I WILL get an expert to handle some things for me. It was a suprise that the IE6 version was 10 yrs. old. The store computer was purchased and installed in 2006. My home one is from about the same timeframe. They both run Windows EX.

Thanks again, for all the help,

Emri

Emri
06-17-2011, 11:11 AM
Thanks Doug,

I guess I need a computer person to runthrough the computers. I did the Microsoft up-date today and it only gave me the IE7 version. Is there a way to "force" the IE8 version ?? Please don't give a long tutorial, I just don't know that much about how to operate the machinery I have in front of me. I WILL get an expert to handle some things for me. It was a suprise that the IE6 version was 10 yrs. old. The store computer was purchased and installed in 2006. My home one is from about the same timeframe. They both run Windows EX.

Thanks again, for all the help,

Emri


Doug,

I up-dated the home computer and the one here at work to IE8 and the problem went away. Stuff works faster also. Strange thing is that Microsoft didn't up-date the browser version when I went to them to "get new up-dates". I got IE8 through Yahoo who had been telling me I needed to do it, but I didn't undersatnd how old the version 6 was.

Thanks again,

Emri

Badger
06-17-2011, 02:04 PM
Glad it's working for you. :)


Regards,
Doug