+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: COMPASS, PRISMATIC, Mk3 (by Peter Laidler)

Click here to increase the font size Click here to reduce the font size
    Administrator

Site Owner
    Last On
    @
    Real Name
    Doug
    Local Date
    04-25-2024
    Local Time
    05:49 AM
    My Videos in Video Club

Article: COMPASS, PRISMATIC, Mk3 (by Peter Laidler)

You can view the page at https://www.milsurps.com/content.php...Peter-Laidler)
    Information
    Warning: This is a relatively older thread
    This discussion is older than 360 days. Some information contained in it may no longer be current.

Last On
    10-11-2022 @ 05:41 PM
    Local Date
    04-25-2024
    Local Time
    11:49 AM
    Concise and to the point, in laymans terms ... excellent .

Next project ! stripping and cleaning the bino's ?

3. Avoid Ads - Become a Contributing Member - Click HERE
    trademarklondon
    I am a compass maker by trade, and this article, while obviously written in good faith, gives fatally flawed information that will lead people to carry out work on beautiful, precision instruments, that will do such damage as to possibly render the compass beyond economical repair.

Over the years I have been asked so many times to repair bad servicing that I have lost count. I often wondered why on earth people would use putty or mastic instead of the 20pence purpose made o-ring that would be correct for the job. Mastic destroys the compass, it weeps into the fluid and coats the interior in such a way that it causes incorrect operation of the instrument. Basically it makes a mess and cam never provide a good seal, and for the compass maker who has to repair the repair it takes hours to remove. It is not just amateur, it is criminal. To seal the sealing glass you use a purpose made D profile o-ring that costs pennies, nothing more.

Special press to press down the sealing glass and mastic? Not really

Surgical spirits? Not really