Today @ 12:14 AM
    Real Name
    Brian Brown
    Local Date
    03-29-2024
    Local Time
    04:18 AM

L42A1 on Gunbroker

I was taking a look at this one. Seems to have a very well traveled bracket with many previous serial numbers.

What is odd to me is that it appears a previous scope number was ground out of the butt stock and had a matching one applied. If the scope was replaced in service wouldn't they have struck out the old scope number and applied the new one below it?

This one looks a bit suspicious to me but I'm no expert.

For your viewing pleasure:

https://www.gunbroker.com/item/898479571

Brian
    Information
    Warning: This is a relatively older thread
    This discussion is older than 360 days. Some information contained in it may no longer be current.

Last On
    @
    Local Date
    03-29-2024
    Local Time
    04:18 AM
    Buttstock butchery is not per the SOP so some knob here in NA did that. You are correct about the renumbering.

The repeated re-numberings of the bracket just reflect the swapping and changing that went on towards the end of the L42's life, or so we are told.
    “There are invisible rulers who control the destinies of millions. It is not generally realized to what extent the words and actions of our most influential public men are dictated by shrewd persons operating behind the scenes.”

Edward Bernays, 1928

Much changes, much remains the same.

3. Avoid Ads - Become a Contributing Member - Click HERE
    Last On
    02-28-2024 @ 11:09 AM
    Home of The Parachute Regiment & 16 Air Assault Brigade
    Real Name
    Gil Boyd
    Local Date
    03-29-2024
    Local Time
    11:18 AM
    Would you buy it?
    'Tonight my men and I have been through hell and back again, but the look on your faces when we let you out of the hall - we'd do it all again tomorrow.' Major Chris Keeble's words to Goose Green villagers on 29th May 1982 - 2 PARA

Contributing Member desperatedan's Avatar
    Last On
    03-27-2024 @ 07:14 PM