+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Thread: Myths, Old Wives Tales and Outright Lies...

Click here to increase the font size Click here to reduce the font size

Hybrid View

Contributing Member Atticus Thraxx's Avatar
    Last On
    10-14-2023 @ 09:51 AM
    Real Name
    GEORGE
    Local Date
    05-25-2024
    Local Time
    07:53 PM

Myths, Old Wives Tales and Outright Lies...

Like many if not most of you I've 40 years of shooting experience. And like all of you, I was a newbie once. And I did not always have access to sober, responsible advice on shooting and weapons. Accordingly, I developed some bad habits and spewed nonsense I'd heard with confidence. Luckily I joined the US military and most of the active stupid was wrung out of me by 20 years old or so. Heck, If I'm truthin' it was probably a few years after that.
    So I was wondering what myths, legends, or just stubborn habits you held on to for maybe a little too long despite evidence to the contrary? I know admitted fault isn't popular these days, so I'll go first. These words spewed from my lips more than once back in the day " If it'll shoot a .22LR it'll take a .22 Magnum no problem". I seriously hope no one got hurt listening to me on that. I always said the "no problem" part with authority too.
    What's yours?
    Information
    Warning: This is a relatively older thread
    This discussion is older than 360 days. Some information contained in it may no longer be current.

Last On
    Today @ 10:26 AM
    Real Name
    Walt Meyer
    Local Date
    05-25-2024
    Local Time
    09:53 PM
    AR rifles suck (uttered during my early years as a SWAT member when H&K firearms were considered the "cool" guns to carry and deploy). I have since learned that the AR platform is superior to the H&K platforms for tough, work related applications. Definitely teaches you that limited experience and what you see in the movies and on TV are no match for true, long term actual experience.