I recently bought a ross rifle. I have been craving a military surplus rifle. after seeing it at a local gun shop I went home and researched these rifles. I read about how the bolts come out and smack the shooter in the face. I still wanted this rifle mainly because of the sliding bolt action. it was unique to me and for some reason I had to have it. I figured if it can hit a claybird at 75yds at least I can use it for a deer/bear gun for hunting. I also admired the machine work on this rifle since I am a machinist by trade. Just that kinda stuff is cool to me. Well after going back and looking it over again I decided to purchase this rifle. The only thing I knew for certain was its cambering.
It has been about a week and I have been doing a bunch of research. I did shoot the gun and it is accurate enough to hit a 2" bull at 50yds. I believe it is capable of better accuracy if I used something better then umc FMJ rounds. I noticed that the spent casings were blown out larger then a unfired casing. From research I found that many ross rifles were bored out so the ammunition would cycle through them better. I also noticed that on the barrel where the rear sight would be there are two bolt holes that appeared to be filled in with solder and then filed down so it is smooth with the barrel. The two holes are not in line however. But are staggered with one on one side and the other on the other side further forward on the barrel. The gun is actually a 1905 ross. I do not know the serial number however. Mainly because there is none.