+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22

Thread: No32 Mk1 scope

Click here to increase the font size Click here to reduce the font size
  1. #1
    Member Delboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Last On
    12-31-2019 @ 10:25 AM
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    16
    Local Date
    01-29-2020
    Local Time
    12:03 PM

    No32 Mk1 scope

    Anybody help with getting scope repairs had it done other year not used it much since came to shoot it found I couldnít get the elevation up to 1000 yds tried always to zero , finally took top of and found the elevation screw as been shortened to what it should be according to Peters book help required please

  2. # ADS
    Friends and Sponsors
    Join Date
    October 2006
    Location
    Milsurps.Com
    Posts
    All Threads
     

  3. #2
    Advisory Panel Surpmil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Last On
    Today @ 01:32 AM
    Location
    Gold Mountain
    Posts
    2,815
    Local Date
    01-29-2020
    Local Time
    04:03 AM
    As best I can make out from your comment, if you are using a replica "T" or bracket or both, it could be your set up is not properly done so that there is insufficient travel in the lead screw to both zero the scope and have full adjustment up to 1000 yards. What do you mean by the lead screw having been shortened? It is shorter than the windage lead screw of course, but there should be no need to shorten it from the original.
    "Men occasionally stumble over the truth, but most of them pick themselves up and hurry off as if nothing had happened." W.L.S.C..

  4. Avoid Ads - Become a Contributing Member - Click HERE
  5. #3
    Member Delboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Last On
    12-31-2019 @ 10:25 AM
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    16
    Local Date
    01-29-2020
    Local Time
    12:03 PM
    Thread Starter
    Thank for replying
    I zeroed the rifle at 100yds spot on trouble is the turret was then set at 400 on the dial so I reset the dial back to 100 mark on drum fired rifle spot on only trouble is when yo turn turret to the 1000 or number ten on dial it only goes up to the 800 or 8 mark, so being me I took the top off removed screw and measured it and the length of thread is shorter than stated in Peters book and it looks to have been shortened on the thread donít know why , what I need is a new elevation screw making to the correct length , as for rifle I presume itís ok the mounts not original itís central to barrel itís been on another No4t and it makes no difference the elevation screw is just the same you canít get it passed 800 or 8 mark what I need is some one to make new screw to correct length

  6. #4
    Advisory Panel Surpmil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Last On
    Today @ 01:32 AM
    Location
    Gold Mountain
    Posts
    2,815
    Local Date
    01-29-2020
    Local Time
    04:03 AM
    Alright, so your lead screw may have been cut down from a windage screw, but not done correctly. That may be all the problem, or it may not be.

    The point about the setting up of the mounts is called collimation; that is the alignment or not, of the axis of the bore with the axis of the mounts and therefore of whatever scope is in the mounts.

    The two axes are not supposed to be parallel in the vertical plane, only in the horizontal (windage).

    In the vertical plane there must be an "angle of declination" built into the mounts so that the axes of the bore and scope meet and cross at a point determined by the trajectory of the bullet and the distance to the target.

    If your 100yd zero is still on at say 400 or above, your collimation is probably fine and you just need a replacement lead screw. Someone else may know where you can get one.
    "Men occasionally stumble over the truth, but most of them pick themselves up and hurry off as if nothing had happened." W.L.S.C..

  7. #5
    Member Delboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Last On
    12-31-2019 @ 10:25 AM
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    16
    Local Date
    01-29-2020
    Local Time
    12:03 PM
    Thread Starter
    Think Iíll start looking for rocking horse poo , rang Fultonís yes we can do it then rang couple weeks later think it was Robert I spoke to his answer no we donít repair them his men in denied ever saying they did told contact RWS did that by email as stated on his webb site says to do no reply as yet. At the moment a guy looking at gun probably sell it to him and put rest up for sale back to shooting proper guns

  8. #6
    Senior Member DanL96a1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Last On
    01-18-2020 @ 07:52 PM
    Age
    37
    Posts
    166
    Local Date
    01-29-2020
    Local Time
    12:03 PM
    Delboy if you have a drawing of the lead screw, and require another to be made. Try to contact David he maybe able to make this for you. Contact us - Crispin Engineering

  9. #7
    Really Senior Member Roy W's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Last On
    Today @ 05:39 AM
    Location
    Hampshire
    Posts
    266
    Local Date
    01-29-2020
    Local Time
    07:03 AM
    PM Roger Payneicon, he may be able to help

  10. Thank You to Roy W For This Useful Post:


  11. #8
    Advisory Panel
    Warren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Last On
    Yesterday @ 02:18 PM
    Posts
    959
    Local Date
    01-29-2020
    Local Time
    07:03 AM
    Give me the length of your range lead screw...
    Top to bottom and length of the thread, bottom to the shoulder.
    However, is this a repro scope or a real one??

  12. #9
    Advisory Panel
    Roger Payne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Last On
    01-24-2020 @ 12:47 AM
    Location
    Sutton Coldfield, UK.
    Posts
    2,399
    Local Date
    01-29-2020
    Local Time
    12:03 PM
    I have lead screws for original No32 Mk1 & 2 scopes, but as Warren intimates they can vary somewhat. If you have the dimensions of yours I can see what I have that might do.


  13. The Following 2 Members Say Thank You to Roger Payne For This Useful Post:


  14. #10
    Advisory Panel
    Warren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Last On
    Yesterday @ 02:18 PM
    Posts
    959
    Local Date
    01-29-2020
    Local Time
    07:03 AM
    Same thought here Roger.
    I have lead screws for the 1,2,3 and some repro's, HOWEVER, we do not know if the scope is an original or a repro.
    Some elevation/range lead screws are not much more than one or two threads.
    The poster stated he removed the cap and checked the lead screw which makes me suspect it is a repro scope.
    Removing the cap off an original can sometimes be a bit of a chore with the sealing compound, several layers of paint and the aligning pins which leads me to believe we are dealing with a repro scope here.
    If the poster can confirm what type of scope he has it will make it easier to determine the problem.

  15. Thank You to Warren For This Useful Post:


+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Looking to buy that No32 'scope.........
    By Peter Laidler in forum The Lee Enfield Knowledge Library Collectors Forum
    Replies: 125
    Last Post: 07-30-2019, 11:56 PM
  2. No32 scope for No4T
    By garmack in forum WTS/WTB/WTT (Want to Sell, Buy or Trade) Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-27-2017, 08:43 PM
  3. AK&S no32 mk3 scope
    By tedd in forum The Lee Enfield Knowledge Library Collectors Forum
    Replies: 35
    Last Post: 09-08-2015, 10:33 PM
  4. No32 Mk3 scope
    By Boom-Boom in forum The Lee Enfield Knowledge Library Collectors Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-30-2009, 07:31 AM
  5. need help with a No32 MK I scope
    By njthor in forum The Lee Enfield Knowledge Library Collectors Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-31-2009, 06:42 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts